August 2013 Birchbox!

4

August 8, 2013 by abeautydiary

After a long day at work, the new Birchbox in my mailbox really brightened my day. When I opened it, I immediately began jumping up and down after seeing what was on top. I ended up being a little disappointed last month, but I feel like this month’s box was a big hit. I’ll review later, but here’s a first look/first impression.

In order of jumping down exciting to shrug:

1. It’s a 10 miracle leave-in product

photo (26)

Oh. My. My. Okay. I’ve been debating buying this basically every time I go to the drugstore, but considering how many hair products I currently have, I can never justify it. Also, I’m moving soon so I’m really interesting in using up some items. This product claims to repair hair, add shine, detangle, control frizz, seal in hair color, prevent split ends, stop breakage, create silkiness, enhance natural body, and heat protect. I think most of us are happy if we can find one product that does one of these things well, so my hopes are very high. I just used it now, and am interested to see what I think of it.

Sample size: 2 oz.

Sample value: $8.00

2. Tan Towel

photo (23)

I’ve been eyeing these in Ulta and can never figure out if I’m looking it ironically because its ridiculous or if I really want to try it. Currently I use Jergens natural glow and I simultaneously think this will be harder to get an even color with (versus a lotion) or easier so I guess I’ll see. I never seem to get as tan during the summer as I like, being as SPF responsible as I am, so I’m always looking for a safe way to excape paledom.

Sample size: 1 towel

Sample value: $3.00

3. Dr. Jart Beauty Balm with SPF 45

photo (22)

I’m a little neutral about this. I will definitely give it a try, but I tend to find that products with this much SPF feel like putting on a sunscreen and it makes my face look shiny, but I’ll try to withhold judgment. I’ve yet to find a Beauty Balm that I like, but I’m determined in a lazy if-it-shows-up-on-my-doorstep-I’ll-give-it-a-go way.

Sample size: 5mL

Sample value: $4.88

4. Fresh Feet Wipes

photo (24)

Getting a little weird now. These are wipes for you feet. I mean…okay. I guess my feet do get dirty wearing flip flops. This comes with two wipes, and I just can’t see myself investing in carrying these around, but I am going to put this in my purse and see if a dirty-foot-situation arises. Who knows. I may come to realize that I’ve been living a filthy life, tracking grime through my apartment.

Sample size: Two wipes

Sample value: $0.50

5. Party Proof Matte Lipstick in Kitty

photo (25)

If I didn’t have tons of lip products already this would probably be four, but I’m just not that excited about it. I will try it, and it does seem to be a nice natural color. I recently talked about the Bite Beauty lipsticks that I love and it’ll be pretty hard for this to compare. I don’t know if others have experiences this, but my lips tend to be pretty sensitive to ingredients and will just feel very uncomfortable with some products on them. I do love the name of the color, as it reminds me of this gal:

photo (12)

Sample size: 1 lipstick (comes in set of 3 for full size)

Sample value: $8

Overall box value (cat not included): $24.38

It also comes with a couple for 20% one item at Ann Taylor or 30% two items

I’m hoping to do a review of these products once I’ve given them all a fair shot and maybe finding a new favorite like has happened with Birchboxes past.

What did everyone else get in their boxes this month? Anyone thinking of starting a subscription?

4 thoughts on “August 2013 Birchbox!

  1. waneekah says:

    It’s a 10 Miracle leave in product is the BEST! I bought it accidentally and never looked back :)

  2. Wow – you got your Birchbox FAST! I haven’t even received my shipping notice yet! I got a different Dr. Jart product in my last month’s box, and I really liked it, so I’ll be interested to see what you think of the BB cream. And I hope your leave-in hair product is everything you want it to be!
    - Michelle

    • abeautydiary says:

      Haha yes, I don’t think I’ve ever gotten it so fast before this month. And thank you!

      I’m torn, like I am with a lot of my Birchbox stuff, with the Dr. Jart BB cream. I liked using it, but at the same time I don’t like it more than my usual items Would you repurchase it?

      • I probably would, yes. I had received the Ceramidin Cream, and it feels nice on my skin, but it also works well for my boyfriend who has a psoriasis-like condition on his face. So right now, I’m a fan of Dr. Jart.
        - Michelle

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

